Press Releases

Babin Joins Vice President Pence in Visiting Johnson Space Center to Congratulate NASA’s Newest Astronauts

Houston, TX – U.S. Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX), who is Chairman of House Space Subcommittee, today joined Vice President Mike Pence, U.S. Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and U.S. House Science, Space, and Technology Committee Chairman Lamar Smith (R-TX) for the 2017 Astronaut Selection Announcement Ceremony at NASA’s Johnson Space Center.

“It was my distinct honor today to join Vice President Pence, Sen. Ted Cruz, Chairman Lamar Smith and the entire NASA team at Johnson Space Center in announcing NASA’s newest astronauts,” said Chairman Babin.  “After being selected from a record number of applicants, these 12 men and women represent America’s best and brightest. Their remarkable stories and exceptional backgrounds serve as an inspiration to all Americans – and I wish them all the very best as they lead America into the next chapter of human space flight.  Human space flight is teamwork.  It takes astronauts and the ground crew at JSC and across NASA to ensure mission success.  We are honored to have them on board.”