2023 Congressional Art Competition

“Let Freedom Ring”

(No other entries will be accepted)

2023 Congressional Art Competition Guidelines
This competition is open to high school students (grades 9-12). Participating students must reside (check here) within Texas's 36th Congressional District (Newton, Jasper, Tyler, Hardin, Liberty, and Chambers counties, as well as portions of Jefferson County and southeastern Harris County).

All entries must follow the theme: “Let Freedom Ring." Ever since our brave forebears declared independence, the United States has been a beacon of liberty, hope, and opportunity. America is regarded worldwide as the land where success is attainable for anyone willing to work for it. From free people to free speech to free markets – freedom rings loudly here. Our freedom is the core of the “American Dream,” and it never fails to inspire old and young alike. For this year’s Congressional Art Competition, Rep. Babin is eager to see your interpretation of what freedom means to you.

Artwork must be two-dimensional and can be no larger than 26” x 26” x 4," including the frame (framing is not required). Artwork may not weigh more than 15 pounds.

Accepted media includes: oil, acrylics, watercolor, pastels, colored pencil, pencil, charcoal, ink, markers (it is recommended that charcoal and pastel drawings be fixed); collage lithographs, silkscreen, block prints; mixed media, computer-generated art; and photography. Artwork must be matted in order to display using push pins (i.e. no frames or plain paper). Each entry must be original in concept, design, and execution and may not violate any U.S. copyright laws. Any entry that has been copied from an existing photo (other than the student’s own), painting, graphic, advertisement, or any other work produced by another person is a violation of the competition rules and will not be accepted. Work entered must be in the original medium (that is, not a scanned reproduction of a painting or drawing).

The first place entry will be displayed for one year in a national exhibit, representing Texas’ 36th Congressional District, in the United States Capitol building in Washington, D.C. The second and third place entries will be displayed for one year in Congressman Babin’s Washington and District offices, respectively.

First, second, and third place winning artwork must be available for the entire year of the exhibition and cannot be returned to the students earlier. Students should, therefore, submit artwork they will not need for other purposes. Artwork must adhere to the policy of the House Office Building Commission. In accordance with this policy, artwork depicting subjects of contemporary political controversy or a sensationalistic or gruesome nature is not allowed. Click here for the full list of rules for students and teachers.

2022 Congressional Art Competition Winner
Mia Gomez
"A Familiar Tune"
Pasadena High School

Intent to Participate Form Due: Wednesday, February 8, 2023, at 5:00 PM CST
Teachers must declare the number of students who intend to participate by submitting an Intent to Participate Form

Submission Due Date: Friday, March 24, 2023, at 5:00 PM CST
Teachers must email a high-resolution photograph of the participating artwork to tx36artcompetition@gmail.comArtwork will not be accepted without a completed Student Information and Release Form.

Awards Reception and Presentation: TBD
Participating students, family members, and teachers are invited to an awards reception and presentation in Beaumont, Texas. At that time, the winning entry will be announced.