## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 8, 2023

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary U.S. Department of State 2201 C St. NW Washington, D.C. 20520

## Dear Secretary Blinken:

We write regarding the election of North Korea to the Executive Board of the World Health Organization (WHO). We have serious concerns that North Korea (DPRK) can now decide the official agenda of the World Health Assembly, the WHO's decision-making body.

North Korea has a well-documented history of human rights abuses, including severe restrictions on civil liberties, limited access to information, and the absence of a transparent healthcare system. Pyongyang has failed to meet the medical needs of its population for years, leading to widespread malnutrition. The WHO has delivered medical assistance to North Korea a countless number of times. However, the DPRK did not allow WHO personnel or other humanitarian workers to enter the country to monitor the delivery of aid for much of the COVID-19 pandemic. North Korea's track record in responding to public health crises raises concerns about its ability to effectively contribute to the WHO's decision-making process. The country's past handling of outbreaks, such as the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) and avian influenza, has been plagued by secrecy, lack of transparency, and delayed reporting.

We are baffled that North Korea, who has consistently violated U.N. Security Council Resolutions, meets the standards of the WHO Executive Board. They do not comply with international norms or contribute to improving global health. The country has faced chronic economic difficulties, resulting in a struggling healthcare system and limited access to essential medical supplies.

The DPRK will be a board member for three years and will be represented by Dr. Jong Min Pak, a director at the Department of External Affairs of Pyongyang's Ministry of Public Health. It is not in the best interest of global health to allow the current supreme leader of North Korea, Kim Jong Un, to influence the WHO's agency and policies. It is shameful that a dictatorial regime that holds no regard for its own people has been elected as a member of the Executive Board, while a beacon of democracy and a leader of healthcare in the region, Taiwan, is still barred from joining the organization at all.

We demand that you adamantly oppose North Korea as a member of the Executive Board and urge the World Health Organization to reevaluate its decision. Doing so would reaffirm the United States' commitment to human rights, transparency, and effective global health governance.

Sincerely,

Lisa C. McClain
Member of Congress

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney

Member of Congress

Ralph Norman

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Troy Balderson

Member of Congress

Sam Graves

Member of Congress

Lori Chavez-DeRemer

Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Nancy Mage

Jodey C. Arrington
Member of Congress

Michelle Steel
Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.
Member of Congress

Michael R. Turner
Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress Elise M. Stafank

Earl I Bully Carte

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress

will I

Doug Lamborn
Member of Congress

Andy Biggs
Member of Congress

Carlos A. Gimenez Member of Congress

Jack Bergman

Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Tim Burchett
Member of Congress

Monica De La Cruz Member of Congress Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman

Member of Congress

Mike Johnson

Austin Scott
Member of Congress

Tracey Mann
Member of Congress

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong
Member of Congress

Aaron Bean

Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress



Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S.
Member of Congress

Virginia Foxx Member of Congress

Victoria Spartz Member of Congress

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

Brandon WIlliams Member of Congress

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Alex X. Mooney
Member of Congress

Mary E. Miller Member of Congress

Daniel Webster

Member of Congress

James R. Baird, PhD

Member of Congress

Jerry L. Carl

Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher

Member of Congress

Mike Carey

Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko

Member of Congress

Ken Calvert

Doug LaMalia
Member of Congress

Lance Gooden
Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Zach Munn / Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

CC: President Biden

Rat Fallen

Member of Congress

Mike Ezell
Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Roger Williams
Member of Congress

Michael Guest

Member of Congress

Josh Brecheen